Helpful Holidays rating
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Pub/shop < 1 mile
- Washing machine
- Sky TV
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
* Based on a combined average customer score
26 Customer Review(s)
“Was a really nice and well maintained property with stunning views.”
Was confined to the apartment a little with Storm Ciaran and didn’t get out as much as intended but there were a few things to increase comfort: - there’s no frying pan at the property and limited ability to prepare meals - channel 4 and bbc iPlayer apps were locked for access to point where we couldn’t even log in for our own accounts to watch a programming we were interested in
Was confined to the apartment a little with Storm Ciaran and didn’t get out as much as intended but there were a few things to increase comfort: - there’s no frying pan at the property and limited ability to prepare meals - channel 4 and bbc iPlayer apps were locked for access to point where we couldn’t even log in for our own accounts to watch a programming we were interested in- Geoffrey, October 2023
“Nicely decorated with a comfortable lounge.”- Ian, September 2023
“An absolutely fantastic apartment with a view to die for.”
Spacious, clean and a perfect base for Ilfracombe. Weather wasn't the best by any means during our stay but we were happy to sray in and enjoy the view. Would definitely book again- Carolyn, September 2023
“An amazing location, the flat has incredible views, very comfortable beds in a quiet street a two minute walk from most of the amenities of Ilfracombe.”
It’s a shame that such a lovely apartment had several drawbacks. The standard of cleanliness wasn’t on par with the views. There was lots of dust, especially on the mezzanine level. We found hair on the en-suite bath mat and the master bedroom floor . No dustpan and brush had been provided. The clothes horse had broken spars. The dishwasher door makes the most alarming sound when you open it. The frying pan needs replacing. The kitchen knives are so blunt as to be unusable and there is no knife sharpener provided. We had to work out that the oven didn’t work unless the timer was set as this was not in the welcome pack The advertised Sky TV did not work. Other than the cleanliness issues most of the issues are small annoyances but they build up. This has the potential to be an amazing place to stay unfortunately we wouldn’t come back.- Clare, August 2023
“Virtually unusable patio and patio furniture making it impossible to enjoy the great views from the balcony.”
Overall cleanliness of the inside was also not good. But the property did have great views! That’s the redeeming feature.- Rajesh, May 2023
“Everything was great apart form the broadband and sky q being switched off at the mains sockets, which meant it took a while for it to get back online.”- Neil, May 2023
“The seaviews were great and the bedding was clean and fresh.”
....... Now the not so good news. we found nail clipping on the carpet up on the mezzanine, the apartment was not cleaned in other parts, the fridge door tray fell off and a bottle of ginger cordial smashed on the floor, there was no mop or dustpan and brush so we could clean up, getting down on your knees wasnt easy to clean, it was very upsetting, I am 70 yrs of age there is mold on the settee, down the side of the seat nearest the window We paid £85.00 for the week so that we could park our car The kitchen sink handle came off in my hands, the wifi kept going off from about 6 o'clock until 9, and ocassionaly in the day. 7yrs ago we stayed in the apartment down below and it was a joy to spend our holiday there. We did not enjoy our stay here. We couldnt enter the apartment until 5 0 clock the day we arrived, that is quite late, I wouldnt have minded if the apartment had been cleaned properly. we all felt uncomfortable staying in this apartment. There was a highchair up on the mezzanine! !!! Very odd as the holiday brochure said, no small children, the apartment isnt good for for elderly and people with mobility problems. To go out onto the balcony, there is a small step which cannot be seen, this should have a yellow stripe painted on it, I tripped not knowing it was there. This apartment as the potential to be a really nice place to stay, I'm sorry to say it wasnt for us.- Susan, April 2023
Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We are sorry that you experienced some issues during your stay, had we been made aware of the issues at the time of your stay, we would have done all we could to rectify things for you. Property Owner
“Spectacular location and the coastal views are absolutely outstanding.”
It felt like a week on a cruise liner and I left completely relaxed, energised by the sea and at one with nature. The natural light as you look out to sea is wonderful and the town and harbour views to the rear are mesmerising, particularly at night with the twinkling lights of the town below. The standard of care and cleanliness that the owners and cleaners maintain for the flat are exemplary and much appreciated. This is clearly a much-loved home and the location just up from Ilfracombe Harbour is superb. Coastal walks from the door and spectacular scenery. You couldn't ask for more.- Ian, April 2023
“The road outside is very narrow and rare to park outside.”
This detail is in the description but good to know there are a few long stay car parks and a weekly ticket from North Devon council is currently £25. People should be prepare for inconvenience when loading/unloading as you will block the road and if others need to pass it is stressful. Lovely place but moments of hassle.- Jo, April 2023
Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. It does state on the website that - space permitting it is possible to park outside for up to an hour to unload. We are sorry if you found this a bit stressful. Property Owner
“Loved our stay.”
Me and my daughter went for a mum and daughter week away in sunny February. Location brilliant lots of beautiful places to explore. Loved the location and the view. Apartment was warm and welcoming and everything that you need. It was very comfortable and we enjoyed it so much we recommended to everyone we knew. Will come back again for an out of season sea break away. Thank you so much- Angela, February 2023
“Wow, just wow.”
..what an amazing apartment....so quiet and the views are absolutely outstanding...really comfy beds and bedding, no expense has been spared to make it a luxurious stay. Everything we needed and more. Will definitely be returning Thank you- Teresa, May 2022
“The property was beautiful and the view was amazing.”
Would definitely recommend (and have already) and visit again in the future.- Sarah, April 2022
“The Penthouse was in an amazing location, But not very clean ,We had to clean the frenxh doors as finger prints all over them, Mirrors not cleaned, Drawers not cleaned out in bedroom and also alot of dust.”- Paula, September 2021
Thank you for leaving feedback. I have spoken to the owner who will pass this on to the housekeeper. Many thanks for flagging this up. We very much hope you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner
“On our first night we heard rats and/or mice running up and down for hours and then again in the very early hours.”
We were horrified by this experience. The noise came clearly from the ceiling. This continued every night. We vacated to the second bedroom which was a children's bedroom where it was quieter. The boiler was located in the main bedroom which came on during the night and then again very early in the morning. This was another reason for us to move to the children's bedroom. On each floor close to each apartment in the main hallway there were piles of rubbish each day. On warm days these piles of rubbish started to smell badly. Although we were on the top floor, there was no mobile reception which surprised us. Helpful Holiday's website did not mention this when we made the booking. Had there been an emergency, this could have been fatal as communication with any emergency service by mobile was simply not possible. Most restaurants asked for pre-bookings due to COVID. We were unable to book a table as there was no mobile reception from the flat. The on-suite bathroom was so tight, that it was difficult to get to the toilet with ease. The wash basin was the smallest I have ever seen in my life, it was not suitable for washing hands, face, brushing teeth, etc. properly. We were unable to use this on-suite for these reasons. Clearly this on-suite bathroom was an afterthought. We understand from Helpful Holidays that the owner depending on his time, may reset the boiler setting and may contact the building management company to discuss the issue with the rats/mice. We were very disappointed because we could not enjoy this flat.- Christa, August 2021
Thank you for leaving your feedback. I have spoken to the owner about the issue you reported with rats or mice. They had this problem investigated and there were no rodents in or around the property. The noise you were probably hearing was seagulls/birds on the roof. Additionally, the boiler is programmed to turn off at 11pm and scheduled to turn back on at 7am. Unfortunately there is little to be done about the surrounding apartments recycling system or the phone reception, this is listed in our property features. We are sorry to hear that these issues disrupted your stay. Property Owner
Didn’t impact us, but just in case this has not been mentioned to date, the bottom (fan) oven is not working (but top oven/grill fully operational).- Sharon, July 2021
Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. The oven has been checked by an engineer, no faults were found, and the oven is working perfectly. Property Owner
“Absolutely fantastic location, views were amazing.”
Accommodation spotlessly clean. Only tiny problem was key safe a little temperamental.- Jane, July 2021
“The cleanliness left a bit to be desired.”
The mezzanine level didn't look like it had been cleaned as dust was on the floor and human hair on the seat. Neither of the extractor fans had been cleaned for a long time with dust and dirt build up on the surface and same on top of bathroom cabinet. The decking needed major clean - grass growing within the boards, weeds growing up side of roof, bird feathers in gutters. Patio door latches were broken so doors could not be fastened back (no sign of bungee cords listed in welcome pack!). Also whilst accept not owners control the next doo unit is vacant and dead bird on decking/feathers everywhere - screen could have been erected? Result was decking wasn't useable/enjoyable which was major disappointment. Photos available Also still waiting for refund that was promised at the start of the holding from your email of 19th June - please advise as to when this should be expected?- David, June 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment. We’re very sorry to hear you didn’t find the property as clean as you would expect and we’ve spoken with the owners regarding this, who have also apologised and will discuss with their cleaner. The owners have now erected a screen to shield the neighbouring properties balcony and in addition, the neighbour has now tidied this area up. We’re sorry that not everything was perfect on this occasion, but do hope that you will have confidence to return in future. Property Owner
“We had a terrific break, great location, great facilities.”
The lift is still not working and it would have been better if we new about it before we arrived. We feel that you should tell people in advance, on a practical level we would have taken smaller bags. It's a lot if steps with a big bag.- Paul, June 2021
Thank you very much for the feedback, we're really pleased to hear that you had such a good time and liked the property so well. We do apologise the lift was out of action and that you hadn't been informed - unfortunately we only became aware of it ourselves just after you started your holiday. We'd like to reassure guests that the lift is now fixed and in full working order. We hope to see you again soon. Property Owner
“This was a return visit following our excellent holiday to Oceanside last year with my husband and young children (comments are listed).”
I thought I would therefore know what to expect and would be perfect for bringing my 83 year old father away following the extensive shielding and lockdown period. I had booked a space in the long stay carpark through the harbour in advance and knew I would drop off at the door and drive to the carpark. The apartment was clean and there is new furniture in the lounge. However, the lift broke down after our first night and stayed broken for the entire week leaving the 54 winding stairs over three floors to be climbed to get back in. No response from Sykes other than a log of my concern but the owner did reply promptly to suggest a part had been ordered. It’s obviously not their fault but speaking to the actual residents this is now a regular occurrence so sadly I would not recommend this property to the elderly, infirm or young children with pushchairs as it did change the outlook and plans for the entire holiday.- Emma, June 2021
Thank you for your feedback, we’re really pleased how much you liked the apartment and we’re glad you chose to return for your holidays. We and the owners are really sorry that you experienced trouble with the lift. Although there’s been a few problems recently, the owners would like to reassure guests that the lift being out of service is not a regular occurrence. They are changing the contractors who look after the lift in order to help ensure that any problems with it that may occur in future can be more swiftly dealt with. We hope we’ll see you again soon! Property Owner
“Unfortunately the lift was out of use after the first day and for the whole of our stay which proved difficult when we were leaving as we were on the third floor.”
Also the table on the balcony had been removed due to the weather, if this had just been placed inside with a note on it would have saved us making a phone call to return it. A lovely apartment with fantastic views.- David, May 2021
Thank you for completing your feedback which we have discussed with the owner who says, unfortunately we have had some problems with the lift in the building and last week it did fail completely. We have been advised that the parts for the lift are being delivered on Monday 21st June and the engineers will fit the parts on Tuesday 22nd June 2021. Despite this problem we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. Property Owner
“This property was very well equipped.”
The sea view was exactly as shown in picture. Couldn't fault it.- Peter, September 2020
“The kitchen was not up to a desirable cleanliness.”
Dishwasher had to have 5 intense washes before it could be used.Everything BLACK. Also washing machine BLACK where soap goes. Had to be bleached- fetched washing home. Chipped glasses and plates.There was no clean bed linen or towels between the weeks. DEFINATELY NOT A PENT HOUSE SUITE. 3rd time Sykes have misled us.Kitchen utensils eg knives/can opener not sharp. NEEDS COMPLETE OVERHAUL TO BE CLASSED AS PENTHOUSE SUITE.- Martin, September 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback: the points you have raised have been noted and fully addressed. The dishwasher and washing machine have been deep cleaned, various items replaced and steps have been taken to improve on Covid cleaning processes. Under the current Covid situation we cannot provide mid-stay cleans however a linen pack is usually provided between the weeks of any two-week stay. I am afraid there was a miscommunication with the linen company on this occasion, please accept our apologies. Property Owner
“Good location but the apartment needs a lick of paint and the bathrooms up dating.”
Balcony view is stunning but you need to avoid all the feathers and bird mess to sit out there and grass is growing between the decking. Forget parking and it’s hard to unload and load the car . If you struggle with mobility avoid . Overall not worth the money for the view .- Lee, August 2020
“Booked the apartment post lockdown specifically for the view!”
! (We were supposed to be in Spain!!) If we couldn’t go far or the weather was bad, at least we had something to look at and we were not disappointed! The view from the lounge is spectacular come rain and shine...and we had both!! The apartment is clean and well equipped. The children liked their boys space upstairs, although it’s an art to get up the stairs as they are quite steep!! It was well documented that parking isn’t easy to get loaded and unloaded but we managed to get quite close for both and then parked in the long stay by the harbour and purchased a permit for the week on line from the council so was no problem. Just a 10 minute walk. It was a shame a lot of the local attractions and establishments remained closed due to covid. Fingers crossed they can make it through the season. Great location literally a couple of minutes from the harbour and the little beach. Really enjoyed the stay!! Highly recommended!!- Emma, July 2020
“I advised you that I had a disabled person in my party and was reassured when I was told there was a lift.”
However, there were steep steps up to the front door and it would have been impossible to get a wheelchair up there if my friend had been in one. Also, from the disabled point of view, parking was an issue. Fortunately I found a space outside but if it had been after 15th March I couldn’t have parked there for more than an hour. That is not what I call suitable for the disabled. On that basis, I do not feel we can return. That’s a shame because it was a beautiful apartment with a fabulous view.- Jane, March 2020
“Amazing views and beautiful views at night time at the back of the apartment.”
Very clean and modern apartment. Down side is the parking - nowhere to park in the daytime.- Ian, October 2019
- All third floor (lift access)
- Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC
- 1 x twin
- Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
- Open plan living room with kitchen, breakfast bar and sitting area with patio doors to balcony
- Mezzanine floor with seating, TV and desk.
- Gas central heating
- Gas cooker and hob
- Microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Sky Q Entertainment package, DVD, iPod dock, WiFi
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Cot and high chair available
- Parking in chargeable car park 400m
- Roadside parking in street outside subject to space, restricted 1hr Mid March - End Oct
- There are six steps leading to the front door of the building with handrails either side
- Balcony with furniture
- Sorry, no pets or smoking
- Sorry, no children under 5yrs except babes in arms
- Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.1 miles.
For those seeking a holiday beside the sea, you might be hard pushed to find somewhere closer than 9 Oceanside .
Perched on the enviable top floor of the Oceanside apartments on Capstone Crescent in Ilfracombe, the position is just a moments walk from the coastal footpath and the pretty harbour of Ilfracombe, guarded by the famous bronze statue 'Verity' created by Damien Hirst.
A charismatic seaside destination, Ilfracombe once made popular by the Victorians is now one of the most thriving resorts on Devon's North Coast.
A walkers paradise, Ilfracombe is a central location for some of the finest walking countryside in England and suitable for all levels and abilities.
On the edge of Exmoor National Park the scenery in this region is quite spectacular and encompasses some simply breathtaking walking routes across cliff tops, valleys and moorland.
The town offers a plethora of modern cafes, restaurants and a variety of shops and beaches, the famous Tunnels Beaches with its turquoise blue waters and shallow rock pools providing safe bathing and paddling for all ages.
Beach lovers who prefer long sandy stretches and rolling waves for surfing can enjoy the award winning Woolacombe and Croyde, both within a short car journey and perfect for family day trips to the beach.
A trip to this area wouldn't be complete without visiting the Valley of the Rocks and the famous funicular railway at the picturesque Lynton and Lynmouth often referred to as Devon's little Switzerland, and where Exmoor meets the coast. Breathtaking, uninterrupted views of the sea greet you as you enter this modern contemporary apartment.
Step through patio doors onto an impressive balcony its top floor position benefiting from day round sunshine, a perfect spot for an evening drink whilst the sun sinks slowly beneath the horizon.
The light and airy open plan living space is arranged to take full advantage of the incredible sea views, where on fine day it is possible to see the Welsh coastline.
There is a useful mezzanine level providing additional seating with a TV and desk for anyone needing to study or work.
Positioned on the third floor, there is lift access from the ground hallway.
Enjoying a central position close to the harbour, you can enjoy morning strolls to enjoy coffee on the harbour side or lunch in one of many restaurants and cafes in the town.
Parking is in a nearby car park roughly 5 minutes walk.
Space permitting it is possible to park outside for 1hr to unload.
Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.
View on map
About the location
Barnstaple 11 miles.
The bustling seaside town of Ilfracombe lies on a beautiful stretch of North Devon coastline, with five beaches, much of it owned by the National Trust. Ilfracombe is only a ten minute drive from Exmoor National Park, with its rolling countryside and quaint villages. Ilfracombe's heritage harbour and quay are spectacular, with many pubs, shops and restaurants and frequent live music, creating a lively, friendly atmosphere. From here, take a wildlife cruise, a fishing trip or a boat trip to magical Lundy Island, a place of natural beauty, which will provide you with an unforgettable experience. Ilfracombe is the centre for some of the finest walking country in England. Whether you enjoy a gentle promenade walk around Capstone Hill, tackling the rugged coastal path or prefer the river valleys and tranquillity of the moorland hills of Exmoor, you will find the scenery spectacular. Ilfracombe also boasts a number of high-quality eateries, with local fish being prominent on their menus. To the east of Ilfracombe are the unique villages of Lynton and Lynmouth with its clifftop railway, and to the west lie the delights of Clovelly and Hartland. Moreover just a short drive away is the 3 mile long golden beach of Woolacombe Bay, which was been voted one of the top 20 beaches in the world, the perfect place to relax in the sun or catch some waves surfing. Ilfracombe is the perfect location for a North Devon holiday, offering you a gateway to an exciting blend of stunning coastal scenery, seaside fun, rural tranquillity and centuries of heritage and style.
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute
Are you on the phone to our call centre? Your Customer ID is: ck608n2b