Return to search

Fiddlesticks Cottage

Beaminster, Dorset (Ref. 976064)

  • Rating


  • Sleeps


  • Bedrooms


  • Bathrooms


  • Pets


Check availability

Checking Availability ...


  • Fr
  • Sa
  • Su
  • Mo
  • Tu
  • We
  • Th

Loading ...

Arrival date

Not available



Your selection:

{{ getButtonHeading() }}, however the property is available from {{ getReadableChangeoverDay() }}

{{ getButtonHeading() }}

Nearby dates:
  • {{ row.duration }} nights from {{ row.start }} - {{ row.end }}

    {{ }}

    {{ row.price }}

Your selection:

{{ getButtonHeading() }}

Nearby dates:
Available dates:
  • Checking Prices ...
Other available dates:

There are no prices available for the dates selected.

  • {{ row.duration }} nights from {{ row.start }} - {{ row.end }}

    {{ }}

    {{ row.price }}


All prices above are inclusive of the booking fee.


  • Off road parking
  • Smoke-free
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi


    • “Very comfortable and clean and brilliant location with pubs and restaurants and good shops all in very short walking distance. The only thing we thought was appalling was the absence of any recycling facilities whatsoever. That may well be entirely the fault of the council rather than you or the owner but it's the first cottage we've stayed in where nothing whatsoever could be recycled. Given that there is no recycling, one dustbin for potentially four people is not enough.We took our (many!) bottles home and recycled them there.”

    Mr Hamilton, Oxted, December 2018

    • “The cottage was well furnished and decorated and impeccably clean. The bed and pillows were really comfortable and the shower was good. Unfortunately the heat wasn't working properly when we arrived on Saturday - it was not on in the evenings although it came on OK in the mornings. We had to wait 2 days until Monday to get it fixed. Apparently the number listed was for an agent on leave and it was only when the office was open on Monday that the phone was picked up. We called Monday morning and they sent someone round on Monday late afternoon. He told us there had been problems with the heat before. Another disappointment was that the kitchen, while very well stocked with utensils, had very little in the way of supplies - just salt and pepper and a few tea bags and instant coffee sachets. I'm not sure whether that's normal for the UK, but its a pain coming from abroad to in effect have to stock up with kitchen basics like oil and vinegar.***OWNER RESPONSE*** ''Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Fiddlesticks Cottage. We are sorry to hear about your difficulties with the heating, especially as the boiler and controller were replaced less than a year ago. Although the type of controller is quite typical of those in UK properties, we will introduce a simple user guide for guests to adjust the heating to their wishes. As the cottage is a self-catering property we only provide a few essentials to get you going for the week, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with this. We are glad you were comfortable for your stay and thank you for your comments''”

    Ms Meiri, West Roxbury, October 2018

    • “Really pleased we stumbled across this cottage for our short break, lovely cosy lounge, kitchen well equipped, whole cottage really clean. Great location close to centre of quaint town with local shops, good pubs and restaurants. Definitely be back.”

    Mr Freeston, Petersfield, October 2018

    • “The cottage is lovely, beautifully decorated and well equipped. It boasts a lovely location in a quiet residential street, and is perfect for visiting this beautiful part of Dorset. However the listing on your website suggests there is off street parking, which is simply not the case. While the smallest of small cars (eg a Smart car or a Fiat 500) could possibly park on the hard standing in front of the cottage, a regular family sized car would never be able to, most especially when there is a car parked on the roadside opposite. Interestingly, speaking to the local neighbours, they all commented how difficult parking would be and that all guests have to park in the road. It is clearly a source of frustration for them as well, especially for one lady whose car was stuck at the garage for 3 weeks having been hit by one of the Fiddlesticks guests. Personally, I think you would be better to describe the cottage as not having parking, as it sets the expectation for a potential guest, more accurately. The cleanliness of the property could perhaps be improved as well. We were left with no bathroom cleaning equipment which was disappointing, so had to go out to purchase this, including a strong limescale cleaner which my mother spent some time cleaning the bathroom basin, to remove the built up limescale residue. I should say that the property was not dirty, but perhaps not as clean as it could have been. A steam clean of the floors would be beneficial, as would the nooks and krannies. The bin in the kitchen would also benefit from a deep steam clean especially around the press button opening mechanism. Likewise, we were only left with 5 dishwasher tablets. As we were staying for 7 days, we had to go and purchase more tablets, which we have left at the cottage for other guests. Also, there were insufficient bin bags. It’s not a big issue but rather an annoyance especially as we had to buy other cleaning products. In other cottages we have stayed in, there has always been a plentiful supply of these sorts of items. Unfortunately there were a number of defective lightbulbs in the kitchen, with no spares available to replace them. Of the 7 lights in the kitchen, only 3 were working. I suspect the cleaning team have not noticed the issue as they don’t need to turn the lights on, but perhaps they could include this in their checks and replace where necessary, in future. None of the items are big issues in isolation and certainly did not stop us enjoying our holiday very much. Perhaps a little attention to detail on the finer points could help make ours (and others) stay, even better. ***Owners Response*** Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at Fiddlesticks Cottage. We’ve spoken with the owners about your comments and they have asked we respond with the following: Although we agree the parking area is fairly small we do mention this in the property description on line to ensure guests are made aware that the parking space is more suited for a smaller car. We are not able to confirm if 1 of our visitors caused damage to our neighbours car, it's not something we have been notified of by her. Thank you for letting us know about the limescale in the bathroom, yours is the first report of any potential problem and we will ensure it is investigated. As a self catering property we do only provide enough household supplies to start your holiday off. The kitchen spot lights are LED and work on 2 switches, 1 of which works 4 spots and the other 3, all were working fine after our recent stay, we wonder if you had possibly not located both switches? Despite the issues raised, overall we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday”

    Ms Leete, Stockbridge, September 2018

    • “Great cottage - felt like home for a week.”

    Mr Crosbie, New Malden, August 2018

    • “We had a lovely holiday staying at Fiddlesticks Cottage for the second year running, 3 of us plus Florence the dog! Just felt it was not as clean as last year. The freezer in fridge was so frosted up, impossible to use. The upstairs bathroom, ok, but had not been cleaned in the corners etc. The cutlery tray was horrid, old dried food amongst the cutlery. Outside, in the courtyard garden, just needed a bit of TLC, hanging baskets dead, bushes needed cutting. I watered the geraniums that were ok. Sadly no garden umbrella for the table, disappeared from last year, really needed it this last week in the heat. Front of the house 2 dead plant pots by the front door and the path/steps all needed sweeping.The neighbour also commented about it. Best not to have plants if they can't be cared for. Anyway a happy week with great weather, lovely position of the cottage, but please don't let the care of the cottage go down. it was very clean last year. ****Owner Response**** Thank you very much for your comments, we're so pleased you chose to return to Fiddlesticks and we're delighted to hear you had another lovely holiday. We're sorry to hear a few things weren't perfect however and would like to let you know that our regular cleaner is now back and we hope to continue the same high presentation as previously. Having had such a hot and dry summer we agree that the garden needs a bit of attention and we will ensure this happens. The garden umbrella has also been replaced. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we're really happy again to have had you back and we look forward to seeing you again next Summer!”

    Mr Beard, CHIPPENHAM, July 2018

    • “It wasn't quite clear what to do with food waste, we put into freezer bags and then into the dustbin out the front otherwise everything was fine.”

    Mr Timms, SOUTHAM, July 2018

    • “A very comfortable property, albeit rather overlooked by surrounding properties, in a very pleasant town. I would emphasize that when they say 'Parking for one small car' they mean exactly that. Luckily for us our car is small!”

    Mr Carran, CREWE, June 2018

    • “Charming cottage in a wonderfully friendly village, surrounded by beautiful countryside. The cottage was very well equipped, the village of Beaminster had a good selection of shops, butchers, green grocers and a good Co Op.”

    Mrs Birch, HORSHAM, April 2018

    • “Helpful holidays has that personal feel that so few companies have now a days. They always deliver!”

    Mrs Cox, April 2018

    • “We had a lovely weekend at Fiddlesticks Cottage - perfect size and shape for a family of four, and all mod cons.... Beaminster is a lovely little town - lots of pubs, nice shops, a Co-op just round the corner, for those last minute items, and the Beaminster Museum is a wonderful place to spend an hour or two on a rainy day...or even on a sunny day! The Giant Man at Cerne Abbas, and the beach at Lyme Regis are only 30-odd minutes away,,,two nice trips with lots of fresh air and walking, followed by cream teas and local ice-creams, respectively. Couldn't recommend it more - I'm sure we'll be back...”

    Mr Crapper, WHITCHURCH, March 2018

View All (11)

The Property

In Beaminster, 50' back from a no-through lane, a pretty, detached, 19th cent. cottage. Lovely wooded valley walks to neighbouring Netherbury, where the original ‘River Cottage’ from the TV series is located. Access up 6 shallow steps to stable doors into hall with tiled floor and shower-room (suite). Aarchway into attractive living room with fireplace (flame-effect electric fire) and TV/DVD/Blu-ray. Kitchen/dining room (slimline dishwasher, microwave, fridge, electric cooker) with back door to little paved sunny area (table/chairs) on two levels (2 steps). Further steps up to outhouse/sunroom with sink, washing machine and comfy sofa, good for sunny cuppas on cool days. Steep stairs from living room up to two bedrooms - a double (5' bed), and a roomy twin with pretty village view to the hills; bathroom (suite, shower over bath). Parking for one small car (alternative quiet road parking nearby). No children under 7. A comfortable cottage for all seasons.

Beaminster: thriving little town (church, pubs, cafés, shops, museum, art gallery) in the midst of a conservation area, 5 miles from the ancient historic market town of Bridport (restaurants, pubs, cinema, arts centre) and 7 miles from the wide, unspoilt beach of West Bay (location for ITV's 'Broadchurch' series) on Dorset’s ‘Jurassic Coast’.


1st FloorGround Floor

Kitchen Dining Room Living Room Shower Room


Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double, 1x twin. Sitting room with fireplace and electric wood burning stove style fire. Kitchen with dining area. Sunroom. Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC. Ground floor shower-room with shower, basin and WC.


  • Central heating with electric fires
  • Microwave, fridge, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Blu-ray, DVD, WiFi, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for one small car
  • One well-behaved dog welcome, Sorry no smoking
  • Pub less than 1 mile from property
  • Note: This property does not accept children under 7.

Regional Information

BEAMINSTER Bridport 6 miles; Crewkerne 7 miles; Lyme Regis 15 miles. The attractive country town of Beaminster nestles beneath the rolling West Dorset downland within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Around its square is the Conservation Area which boasts over 200 Grade II listed buildings, many of which are built from mellow hamstone. This thriving rural community offers a good selection of shops, inns and restaurants, whilst each summer hosts a popular music and arts festival. The local area abounds in a network of footpaths, one leads to the village of Netherbury, the site of the original River Cottage TV programme. An easy drive takes you to the lively market town of Bridport and to West Bay (TV's Broadchurch) on Dorset's stunning Jurassic Coast, whilst Lyme Regis, Dorchester and Weymouth are all easily accessible. A charming Dorset country town set in a most attractive rural setting.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
  • Note: This property does not accept children under 7.
    Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100
  • Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.