Return to search

Barn Cottage

Hawkridge, near Dulverton, Devon (Ref. 975955)

  • Rating

    

  • Sleeps

    8

  • Bedrooms

    5

  • Bathrooms

    3

  • Pets

    Yes

Check availability

Checking Availability ...

<>

  • Sa
  • Su
  • Mo
  • Tu
  • We
  • Th
  • Fr

Loading ...

Arrival date

Not available

Nights

Arriving

Your selection:

{{ getButtonHeading() }}, however the property is available from {{ getReadableChangeoverDay() }}

{{ getButtonHeading() }}

Nearby dates:
  • {{ row.duration }} nights from {{ row.start }} - {{ row.end }}

    {{ row.discount }}

    {{ row.price }}

    {{row['book']}}
Your selection:

{{ getButtonHeading() }}

Nearby dates:
Available dates:
  • Checking Prices ...
Other available dates:

There are no prices available for the dates selected.

  • {{ row.duration }} nights from {{ row.start }} - {{ row.end }}

    {{ row.discount }}

    {{ row.price }}

    {{row['book']}}

All prices above are inclusive of the booking fee.

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Smoke-free
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews

    • “Barn Cottage is a warm and comfortable cottage ideally placed for those who like long or short walks. We recommend that you follow the directions issued by Helpful Holidays otherwise you may find yourself thwarted by the ford at Tarr Steps only 5 minutes from the Cottage.”

    Mr Dawson, October 2018

    • “This could be a lovely cottage however, some of it is tired and neglected. For example, water damaged wood panelling, stained and split kitchen lino. The front door frame was splintered by the top hinge, which could have caused a big problem. We tried to use the other door instead but the handle was broken therefore it could only be locked from the inside. We reported the split door frame first thing on Monday, as soon as we realised why the door was sagging, and this was atttended to as we were leaving. We wanted to use the payphone during our stay but it did not work and we reported this also. Other people had commented in the visitors book that the TV remote does not match the TV so does not work completely. The WiFi connection is intermittent. However, the kitchen is well equipped, the cottage characterful and the location idyllic. ****Owner response**** Thank you for your feedback. We entirely agree with you - Barn Cottage is lovely and characterful, the location is idyllic, and some TLC and maintenance is overdue! The downside to our idyllic, West Country location is slower and occasionally intermittent WIFI. We have however repaired the damaged panelling and front door, and renewed the lino on the kitchen floor. There are new handles on the front door, the landline has been checked, and the new remote works perfectly with the TV. We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Barn Cottage.”

    Mrs Campbell, Rugby, June 2018

    • “There was not a functioning shower in the property, shower hose in bathroom missing from bathroom, shower hose in other bathroom has no fitting to hand from wall, downstairs shower in WC has non closing doors that leak water if used. Tap in bathroom won’t shut off, top floor of cottage has serious amount of flies/insects flying around in bathroom and bedrooms. Outside light permanently on not allowing for night time sky viewing (Main reason for our booking) trail hounds kept in stable block adjacent to property that howl and wail at night keeping you awake. We left the cottage three days early as had enough. Will not use again. Dated, worn, poorly equipped and shabby. The location is perfect, that is the ONLY upside but sadly not enough. ****Owner response**** Your feedback on the showers was very useful and we are sorry as it should have been spotted and repaired before your stay. We are glad to report that the showers have now been fixed, and are fully functioning. We are also sorry that you did not let us know about the broken tap: our very competent onsite caretaker was able to fix the tap in five minutes once notified of the problem. The attic had been left clean and spotless. We are however fortunate to live in an area of outstanding natural beauty with a fabulous abundance of insect life. The flies hide away in autumn and when there is a sunny warm day they appear from nowhere. It is however easy to get rid of them by opening a window. The outside light has been adjusted and is now on a short timer so that it only comes on briefly to help guests arriving or leaving. We are glad to know that you and your dog enjoyed playing with the hound puppies, and really sorry that you didn’t let Danielle know that the puppies’ yelps had kept you awake. Further renovations and redecoration are planned for the winter months to ensure Barn Cottage is looking its best for 2019.”

    Mr Murray, Ipswich, October 2018

View All (3)

The Property

A detached cottage in beautiful, remote wooded countryside about 300 yards from Tarr Steps (medieval bridge over a pretty river) and a pub/good restaurant (across the river), down a narrow lane a mile from Hawkridge. This is one of the best spots on the moor for fishing; 7 miles of trout and salmon fishing (fly only), by arrangement (extra). Riding stables nearby; fishing and shooting tuition can be arranged. The cottage is spacious, south-facing, with enclosed garden looking towards a steep wooded cleave (red deer). Inside, bright and full of light with good-sized windows. Hall. Big kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, tumble drier, microwave, fridge-freezer, electric cooker, breakfast table/chairs. Large open-plan living/dining room with open fire, TV/DVD and French windows to the garden. Shower-room (suite with surround power-shower). Steep stairs (stairgates) up to three bedrooms - the master double (5' bed), a small twin (2'6" beds), and another small double (limited clothes-hanging space); bathroom (suite plus hand-shower). More steep stairs up to two attic double bedrooms (limited clothes-hanging space), one with 6' zip-linked bed or twin, the other with 5' bed, and bathroom (suite), all with low headroom. Spring water. A wonderful, peaceful setting: birdsong and the sound of the river the only intrusion.






Hawkridge: tiny, remote village close to the beautiful wooded valley of the river Barle. Red deer, other wild animals and birds in abundance. Nearest shops, Dulverton, 7 miles. The sea at Porlock, about 15 miles; the great sand/surf beaches at Saunton (fine golf course), Woolacombe and Croyde, about 30.

Floorplans

2nd Floor1st FloorGround Floor

Kitchen Dining Area Lounge Shower Room

Accommodation

Over three levels. Three first floor bedrooms: 2 x double (one king size), 1 x 2'6" twin. Bathroom with bath, hand shower, WC, basin. Two top floor bedrooms: 2 x double (one super king can convert to twin, the other king size). Bathroom with bath, WC, basin. Ground floor kitchen with breakfast table. Sitting room with dining area and open fire. Hall. Downstairs shower room with shower, WC, basin.

Amenities

  • Central heating with open fire
  • Microwave, fridge-freezer, tumble dryer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with DVD, WiFi, Payphone, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available on request, Off road parking for two cars
  • Enclosed garden
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Pub less than 1 mile from property
  • Note: This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly.f 8

Regional Information

HAWKRIDGE Dulverton is the southern gateway to the Exmoor National Park, a small town standing between the rivers Barle and Exe, which meet further down the valley. Dulverton has some quaint narrow streets weaving between fine Victorian buildings and a three arched bridge crossing the river leading to riverside walks.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Note: 2'6" beds in first floor twin. Steep stairs. Low headroom in top floor bedrooms. Spring water. Sorry, no short breaks
  • Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.