Return to search


Millbrook, Cornwall (Ref. 976428)

  • Rating


  • Sleeps


  • Bedrooms


  • Bathrooms


  • Pets


Check availability

Checking Availability ...


  • Fr
  • Sa
  • Su
  • Mo
  • Tu
  • We
  • Th

Loading ...

Arrival date

Not available



Your selection:

{{ getButtonHeading() }}, however the property is available from {{ getReadableChangeoverDay() }}

{{ getButtonHeading() }}

Nearby dates:
  • {{ row.duration }} nights from {{ row.start }} - {{ row.end }}

    {{ }}

    {{ row.price }}

Your selection:

{{ getButtonHeading() }}

Nearby dates:
Available dates:
  • Checking Prices ...
Other available dates:

There are no prices available for the dates selected.

  • {{ row.duration }} nights from {{ row.start }} - {{ row.end }}

    {{ }}

    {{ row.price }}


All prices above are inclusive of the booking fee.


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Smoke-free
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi


    • “Our Christmas break at Lakeside was the best ever. The cottage easily accommodated 7 of us and two dogs. There was also plenty of parking on and off road. The cottage was immaculately clean, tastefully decorated and with quality furnishings and fittings. It gets a 5 star rating from me and well deserved.”

    Mr Whenray, Chepstow, December 2018

    • “This is a great holiday cottage with everything you need. It is in a lovely peaceful setting and the views are fabulous. The garden is great when the weather is good. My one negative is the poor vacuum cleaner. I like to leave holiday lets as I find them but sadly there was virtually no vacuum coming from this cleaner so it made it impossible to give a thorough clean.”

    Mrs Windsor, Stoke-Sub-Hamdon, August 2018

    • “It was a perfect place to stay the cottage was very well equipped with all our needs”

    Mrs Wood, Reading, August 2018

    • “Having booked and stayed at Lakeside often over the last ten years this stay will be our last. We are three ladies who have been friends for a long time and enjoy paper crafting together. Lakeside has been our crafting holiday get away for the last ten years. Sadly, since being taken over, Helpful Holidays prices have risen, in fact the cost of our long weekend in winter months (always November or January) has actually more than doubled. In addition to this a Christmas tree had been left out in the dining room; the bathroom & en suite were cold and without heating as the heated towel rails had not been switched on; the lock had come off the side gate and we were unable to secure; the vertical blind in the kitchen had broken and been mended with sellotape so came down when the blinds were moved; in previous years we had been left with sufficient kindling and logs for at least one fire but on this occasion there was kindling but no logs. Similarly, before there has always been pump hand cleanser/soap on the basins in the downstairs WC, en suite and bathroom but there was none in the WC or en suite; there was no toilet roll in the family bathroom or WC. It appears as though profits are the main focus of Sykes as they have both increased prices and cut costs. Very disappointed so have booked elsewhere and with a different company for January 2020. ***Owner Response*** Thank you for taking the time to complete feedback for Lakeside. As a valued customer of many years, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay this year. It’s a shame you did not let us know about the issues whilst you were at the property, if we had of known we would have done our utmost to help. We have spoken to the owners and they wish to apologise that the Christmas tree being left at the property and for the lack of kindling/logs and soap. Both incidents are being investigated by the owner with their housekeeper. Thank you for bringing the maintenance issues to our attention, these will be corrected and ready for the upcoming season. The heating at Lakeside is controlled by a thermostat and the rails have temperature gauges which allow for them to be adjusted to suit personal preferences. These will usually be on for your arrival, however, should they have been overlooked, they are very easy to turn on. Thank you for enjoying so many previous holidays at Lakeside. We are sorry that it was not perfect on this occasion, but we do hope that overall you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you again in the future.”

    Mrs Aitkenhead, Penryn, January 2019

View All (4)

The Property

A mile from Millbrook towards Cremyll and Mount Edgcumbe, a pretty end-of-row cottage on the edge of Millbrook Lake. At the side, overlooking the lake and enclosed by a wall, a lovely part-lawned garden with swings and patio (rattan sofas, table/chairs, chimenea, barbecue), ideal for late afternoon sun. Little garden at the front. Spacious, comfortable and stylish inside, with superb lake views from almost every window. Porch. Slate-tiled hall. Living room (smart TV/DVD/Blu-ray/PVR, iPod dock) with woodburner, and dining room, both with wood floors and views. Door (5'8" lintel) to roomy, light-filled kitchen/breakfast room (dishwasher, combi-microwave, fridge, 5-ring electric range-style cooker/double oven) with table/chairs and glass doors to patio/garden; step down to utility room (washing machine, tumble drier, large fridge-freezer, sink) and loo.
Stairs (bottom stairgate) up to half-landing, from where 5 steep steps lead either side up to first floor: to one side, double bedroom (5' bed) with en suite bathroom (suite with separate shower); to the other side, a nautical-themed bunk room, another pretty double (5' bed), and a twin - all with lake views; bathroom (suite, whirlpool shower-bath with power-shower over). Spring water. A lovely well-equipped cottage in a great lakeside location.

Millbrook: old village (pub, shops, children's park, lake) at the head of a creek off the River Tamar (boating/birdwatching), a mile from the sea at Whitsand Bay and Kingsand. Cremyll (good pub) and fine houses at Mount Edgcumbe (impressive gardens) and Antony (Nat. Trust), 3 miles. From Cremyll, pedestrian ferry to Plymouth (theatre, shops, entertainments), or 7 miles by car ferry.


1st FloorGround Floor

Kitchen / Dining Hall Dining Room Living Room WC Utility


Four bedrooms, all with lake views: 1 x king-size double with en suite bathroom, 1 x king size double, 1 x twin, 1 x adult sized bunk room. Bathroom with whirlpool bath, shower over, basin and WC. Sitting room with wood burning stove. Kitchen with dining area and glazed doors to patio/garden. Dining room. Utility room and WC.


  • Electric fires, night storage heating with wood burning stove
  • Microwave, fridge, fridge-freezer, tumble dryer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Blu-ray, DVD, WiFi, Phone incoming calls only only, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available on request
  • Off road parking for two cars
  • Enclosed garden with barbecue
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome, Sorry no smoking
  • Note: This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly
  • Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £100

Regional Information

MILLBROOK Whitsand Bay 1 mile; Plymouth 8 miles. Set in a bowl of hills at the head of a tidal creek that leads to the Hamoaze, opposite the great naval city of Plymouth, Millbrook is located on the Rame Peninsula, "Cornwall's Forgotten Corner". Bounded by the Lynher and Tamar rivers, the Hamoaze and the sea, the area is deeply rural and designated as one of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The village has a good range of shops and pubs, while close by are the pretty coastal villages of Kingsand and Cawsand, from which a ferry will take you to Plymouth. Along the southern edges of the peninsula are miles of beautiful walks with glorious views of Rame Head. Just a mile south of Millbrook lies Whitsand Bay with its miles of uncrowded sandy RNLI patrolled beach and dramatic cliffs. A superb base for discovering the wild side of Cornwall.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
  • Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.